Don't click or your IP will be banned


BEACON SHOW MONDAY MARCH 21st

I've been to an uncountable number of Allman Brother shows over the last 32 years. I have never written a review, nor participated in any forums of any kind, yet I feel compelled to put this out there for anyone interested. The Beacon run this year was exceptional. I sat, ( or should I say stood ), Row AA every night, as I have every year since the Beacon shows started. Without going into great detail, the Monday night March 21st show was by far one of the greatest performances, if not the greatest performance I have ever witnessed. You could feel the electricity in the Beacon. The band has gone through so many changes, trials and tribulations over the years. Their were many changes where people predicted the end of the band. The fact is, Great music can't die, the road truly does go on forever. For those of you wondering whether or not you should go out this summer and see the Brothers, do yourself a big favor, These guys are as Tight as ever, this is not a ripoff show for the money, as we've seen other bands do. It's obvious that the Bros. love to play music, and they play with as much energy and passion as possible. The Beacon has always been a special place to see the Allman Brothers, but it's not just the music. The fans are really Great people, young, old, you get from the band what you give. I met alot of really nice people this year, and they deserved the truly great shows that they got ! Great guys in the band who truly appreciate their fans, Honorable mention goes to WARREN HAYNES , who will not walk past a fan without shaking their hand or signing an autograph, a really great friendly guy.......Kirk West, Thanks for being a Great guy as always! Make it a point to go out and see The Allman Brothers this summer! Thanks Guys


Added:  Sunday, March 27, 2005
Reviewer:  Robert O'Herlihy
Score:
hits: 4004

  

[ Back to reviews index ] [ Post comment ]

Posted by nikinou on May 11, 2005 - 02:52 PM
Your rating:

That WAS a terrific show, and yes, there was something special in the air that night. The Allmans and the Beacon had the perfect blend of warmth and intimacy, like coming home. And yes, that perfect evening compelled me to purchase tickets to the Jones Beach show this summer. Below is an excerpt of an article which said so much for the ABB's NY fans...it was so nice to hear such lovely words about us New Yorkers! New York is a Beacon for the Allmans Friday, March 4, 2005 By ED CONDRAN For the next couple of years, though, fans can still look for the vocalist-keyboardist on the road as a solo act or with his beloved Allman Brothers. And they can count on the Allman Brothers showing up in New York this month for the band's annual engagement at the Beacon Theater. "We're going to do our New York run and a few other cities," Allman said. "That's something I'll have a hard time giving up for a couple of reasons. I love doing the Allman Brothers and I love New York, particularly the Beacon. That place reminds me of the Fillmore [East, where the Allmans recorded a live album in 1971]. It's not as big as the Fillmore was, but it has that sound and that feel, which is so special to me. ... I also love the fans in New York City. They're possibly our best fans. Every March when I go up there it's a labor of love."

Posted by skydog1024 on Apr 14, 2005 - 09:29 AM
Your rating:

Well said, brother.

Posted by Rfo45 on Apr 06, 2005 - 09:45 PM
Your rating:

With regard to the Allman Brothers, ( Minus Dickey ).......First know, I love & respect Dickey Betts, I go to see him play whenever he's performing within a reasonable distance, and recently he's been putting on some great shows. It's always a Party at a Dickey show.....I believe the problem at the end of Dickeys run with the Brothers, was he just wasn't really into it anymore ? I was at those final shows, ( at the Beacon by the way ), Dickey was just going through the motions, the band lacked energy, and nobody really looked all that excited to be there. The shows almost had a nostalgic act feeling with little creativity happening on stage. The band took alot of shit for firing Dickey, and how they handled it. I remember HTW members going balistic and pounding away at Butch Trucks online.( at that time , I believe he was the only band member actively on line ). In the end, At the risk of losing it all, I believe there was a reason why the Band made such a radical decision. The music was suffering, and that was simply Unacceptable.......The current lineup are worldclass musicians who have given us some great new music over the last few years, ( wait until you hear Egypt this summer ). To keep looking back and comparing past glory is not progressive. I belive there are great things happening right now, and I think the Best is yet to come !!! As Gregg would say, ' Bogey On ' !!!!!!

Posted by Anonymous on Apr 06, 2005 - 02:56 PM
Your rating:

Why do people miss Dickey Betts when you have Warren and Derek, 2 of the best guitarists in the business? Granted, Dickey is an excellent player, but c'mon people! And why does Derek "need to move around?" This is not a showband, this is the Allman Brothers! It's about the music, man. And you'll find none better than this line-up, which by the way, is not new!

Posted by malcolm on Apr 04, 2005 - 10:53 PM
Your rating:

03-21-05 Outstanding effort, total peak for the new line-up. The band sounds like it is so vital, with much more to play.Gregg and Derek were really vib-ing, and providing a nice little bit of acoustic guitar work. Total band sound with strong playing from every member, met Chuck before hand and had a chat, -warm vib in the Theater. I was there, with my recorder, and a few too many beers. I have some great stuff, and I've got some heartbreaking stuff.( ie. bad eq. or missing a section hear and there) What can I say, I had fun. This will always be sentimental, I hope I wasn't the only person with gear. Keep lobbying for an official release.

Posted by parrothead328 on Apr 02, 2005 - 12:09 PM
Your rating:

This was my 7th ABB Show, and the best show I have ever seen them perform. THere was something special in the air at the Beacon on the 21st, as the set list indicated, along with the special guests. It is a concert I will surely never forget, and I am waiting anxiously for the Brothers to announce when they are going to play Jones Beach this summer. Thanks for a great show...

Posted by Anonymous on Apr 01, 2005 - 10:13 AM
Your rating:

My buddy Phil and I "Truck-ed" down from Hartford for the Monday Night show...I thought the show highlights were the Asbury Jukes horns and having Chuck Leavell back....we sat in the balcony and then came down to the stage level seating for the 2nd set and the difference in sound quality was stunning...you really lose a lot sitting up so high...We also ran into Bill Walton, who could not have nicer...he is a huge (literally) fan of the Brothers and this was the 4th show of this year's Beacon run; we were stupid to leave before the encore (that 2 hour ride on a work night is brutal)...Anyone, tell me about the encore--I hear they did Layla...did Haynes or Greg sing? One other opinion...as good as Derek Trucks is, he needs to get more animated..plays like a statue...I still miss Dickey Betts dearly - Eric Smith

Posted by Anonymous on Mar 30, 2005 - 12:22 PM
Your rating:

Layla was amazing, a terrific tribute to Dwayne. Where is Chasin's review? Anxiously awaiting.

Posted by dcabb on Mar 29, 2005 - 10:51 PM
Your rating:

Could not agree more. The greatest ABB show I have ever seen. I have posted a request in the Bert Holman forum about relasing this show. It is weird that a tape can not be found. Do you have have one? I am desperate. Here is to a great summer. Maybe with Chuck?

Privacy | Terms of Service | Report Infringement | Personal Data Management | Contact Us
The ALLMAN BROTHERS BAND name, The ALLMAN BROTHERS name, likenesses, logos, mushroom design and peach truck are all registered trademarks of THE ABB MERCHANDISING CO., INC. whose rights are specifically reserved. Any artwork, visual, or audio representations used on this web site CONTAINING ANY REGISTERED TRADEMARKS are under license from The ABB MERCHANDISING CO., INC. A REVOCABLE, GRATIS LICENSE IS GRANTED TO ALL REGISTERED PEACH CORP MEMBERS FOR The DOWNLOADING OF ONE COPY FOR PERSONAL USE ONLY. ANY DISTRIBUTION OR REPRODUCTION OF THE TRADEMARKS CONTAINED HEREIN ARE PROHIBITED AND ARE SPECIFICALLY RESERVED BY THE ABB MERCHANDISING CO.,INC.
site by Hittin' the Web Group with www.experiencewasabi3d.com