Don't click or your IP will be banned


Hittin' The Web with the Allman Brothers Band Forum
You are not logged in

< Last Thread   Next Thread >Ascending sortDescending sorting  
Author: Subject: Burning Problems....

True Peach





Posts: 11252
(11270 all sites)
Registered: 3/8/2002
Status: Offline

  posted on 8/1/2009 at 05:17 PM
Never had this problem before but you guys have helped in the past so here goes....

I recently puchased a used Dell Latitude D600 running XP on eBay and added a Dell C-3284 DVD/RW drive to it (it came with a DVD ROM). I have had several problems trying two copy 2 vines, one from DVD and one from CD - I have noticed during playback that once I get about 2/3s of the way through a couple of the CDs they almost start skipping but what is really happening is they stop playing for short intervals (on my portable it actually says "Sorry"). I have tried these discs on 3 different players including my home DVD player and it happens on all of them. I think there must be a problem in the burning process....I have noticed that sometimes after burning a disc the computer no longer recognizes or "sees" the drive when I check My Computer....I am at a loss and about ready to tear my hair out in frustration. I have never had a problem when I converted FLAC files and converted them to CD on my last (company-owned) laptop. I'm thinking maybe it's a buffer underrun? I've got a 60GB HD which is 50% bigger than my last PC which was a Dell Inspiron....not sure how much RAM I have but it's gotta be at least 512MB.

I know its probably impossible for anyone to diagnose this problem without seeing it happen firsthand but I don't know whether to blame the PC or the burner and so far I'm out over $300 and have signed up for a quite a few vines, so if anyone has had similar problems and can offer any advice, I'd be eternally grateful.

Thanks!

 

____________________
"Love Like You've Never Been Hurt"-Satchel Paige

 
Replies:

True Peach



Karma:
Posts: 11252
(11270 all sites)
Registered: 3/8/2002
Status: Offline

  posted on 8/1/2009 at 05:21 PM
P.S. I should notice I used this same burner with a previous PC (had to send the first one back because of other issues) and it worked fine....

 

____________________
"Love Like You've Never Been Hurt"-Satchel Paige

 

World Class Peach



Karma:
Posts: 1534
(5132 all sites)
Registered: 9/3/2003
Status: Offline

  posted on 8/1/2009 at 05:23 PM
I just bought a new laptop and spent 200 extra to get a DVD burner, geek squad and more software, still no luck... I give up, no more vines for me...

and apologies for holding up vines in the past few weeks




p.s. I have heard it is a VISTA problem...

I am ALL MAC from here on in

[Edited on 8/1/2009 by Capn]

 

____________________
There ain't no Good Guy, There ain't no Bad Guy. There's only you and me and we just disagree

 

True Peach



Karma:
Posts: 11252
(11270 all sites)
Registered: 3/8/2002
Status: Offline

  posted on 8/1/2009 at 06:02 PM
quote:
I just bought a new laptop and spent 200 extra to get a DVD burner, geek squad and more software, still no luck... I give up, no more vines for me...

and apologies for holding up vines in the past few weeks




p.s. I have heard it is a VISTA problem...

I am ALL MAC from here on in

[Edited on 8/1/2009 by Capn]


I have heard many horror stories about VISTA, which is why I wanted XP, although I had VISTA on my last PC and never had one problem.

 

____________________
"Love Like You've Never Been Hurt"-Satchel Paige

 

Extreme Peach



Karma:
Posts: 1034
(1034 all sites)
Registered: 8/20/2008
Status: Offline

  posted on 8/1/2009 at 06:25 PM
Whew! I thought it was physical....
 

Extreme Peach



Karma:
Posts: 1372
(1372 all sites)
Registered: 11/21/2004
Status: Offline

  posted on 8/1/2009 at 07:12 PM
Rich,

As you know I'm a Macintosh user, and I'm not sure how did you try to copy vines but you should try the following process.

1. copy all the files to your hard disk. If there's a trouble to copy, original discs are broken by some reasons or your DVD drive is in troubles with reading.

1a. If you didn't get success in above, and if original discs' files are not compressed as FLAC, play back them on your home DVD/CD drive even if original discs are OK or not. If they're OK, all the cause is your PC's DVD drive.

2. Copying files got success, try to burn disc with setting of your burner software raising buffering space.

2a. If you don't get success with above, search another free software for burning and try again. If you only get same results with new software, it's sorry to say that your PC's drive has some problems with it......

 

Extreme Peach



Karma:
Posts: 1480
(1480 all sites)
Registered: 6/29/2005
Status: Offline

  posted on 8/3/2009 at 01:37 PM

Are you sure there is no malware on your PC.
E-bay laptop could be infected, I would run Malwarebytes Antimalware (in normal mode) & Superantispyware (in safe mode) The free versions work good. and/or an online scan with something like eset.
http://www.eset.com/onlinescan/

http://www.gt500.org/malwarebytes/mbam.jsp
http://www.superantispyware.com/download.html

Make sure you update them. If they find anything, make sure you re boot into normal mode. not safe mode, so
they can remove the infections.

or, Just guessing here.
If the original discs aren't corrupt. And all else fails.
Maybe you have too much running in the background. Try temporarily disabling some stuff, like your anti-virus. (disconnect from the web first, of course) Although, that don't explain why your drive doesn't show up in "my computer"
On that subject, that happened to my daughters Toshiba laptop running vista. when I uninstalled DVD shrink. Her drive disappeared from "my computer" Re booting the PC didn't help. I found a tool on the Toshiba website that fixed the problem. Maybe there is something on the Dell website that can help.

http://support.dell.com/support/topics/global.aspx/support/dsn/en/document? c=us&cs=RC956904&docid=E7362A69801046C0A89AAA6C33E21734&l=en&am p;s=hied

 

True Peach



Karma:
Posts: 11252
(11270 all sites)
Registered: 3/8/2002
Status: Offline

  posted on 9/2/2009 at 09:35 PM
quote:

Are you sure there is no malware on your PC.
E-bay laptop could be infected, I would run Malwarebytes Antimalware (in normal mode) & Superantispyware (in safe mode) The free versions work good. and/or an online scan with something like eset.
http://www.eset.com/onlinescan/

http://www.gt500.org/malwarebytes/mbam.jsp
http://www.superantispyware.com/download.html

Make sure you update them. If they find anything, make sure you re boot into normal mode. not safe mode, so
they can remove the infections.

or, Just guessing here.
If the original discs aren't corrupt. And all else fails.
Maybe you have too much running in the background. Try temporarily disabling some stuff, like your anti-virus. (disconnect from the web first, of course) Although, that don't explain why your drive doesn't show up in "my computer"
On that subject, that happened to my daughters Toshiba laptop running vista. when I uninstalled DVD shrink. Her drive disappeared from "my computer" Re booting the PC didn't help. I found a tool on the Toshiba website that fixed the problem. Maybe there is something on the Dell website that can help.

http://support.dell.com/support/topics/global.aspx/support/dsn/en/document? c=us&cs=RC956904&docid=E7362A69801046C0A89AAA6C33E21734&l=en&am p;s=hied


Thank you very much for your help! Haven't tried these yet but nothing else has worked and I'm getting tired of making coasters, so....

 

____________________
"Love Like You've Never Been Hurt"-Satchel Paige

 

Peach Master



Karma:
Posts: 676
(676 all sites)
Registered: 8/9/2008
Status: Offline

  posted on 9/2/2009 at 10:14 PM
quote:
Whew! I thought it was physical....


Yeah, me too. I was gonna suggest Preperation H

 

____________________
Photobucket

 

Zen Peach



Karma:
Posts: 25201
(25201 all sites)
Registered: 9/7/2005
Status: Offline

  posted on 9/7/2009 at 09:58 PM
quote:
Never had this problem before but you guys have helped in the past so here goes....

I recently puchased a used Dell Latitude D600 running XP on eBay and added a Dell C-3284 DVD/RW drive to it (it came with a DVD ROM). I have had several problems trying two copy 2 vines, one from DVD and one from CD - I have noticed during playback that once I get about 2/3s of the way through a couple of the CDs they almost start skipping but what is really happening is they stop playing for short intervals (on my portable it actually says "Sorry"). I have tried these discs on 3 different players including my home DVD player and it happens on all of them. I think there must be a problem in the burning process....I have noticed that sometimes after burning a disc the computer no longer recognizes or "sees" the drive when I check My Computer....I am at a loss and about ready to tear my hair out in frustration. I have never had a problem when I converted FLAC files and converted them to CD on my last (company-owned) laptop. I'm thinking maybe it's a buffer underrun? I've got a 60GB HD which is 50% bigger than my last PC which was a Dell Inspiron....not sure how much RAM I have but it's gotta be at least 512MB.

I know its probably impossible for anyone to diagnose this problem without seeing it happen firsthand but I don't know whether to blame the PC or the burner and so far I'm out over $300 and have signed up for a quite a few vines, so if anyone has had similar problems and can offer any advice, I'd be eternally grateful.

Thanks!


I don't know about running XP on a Pentium 3. especially with only 512 ram.

I suspect you are thrashing in virtual memory and that is causing the hiccups in the burning.

have you tried slowing down the burn rate? I could be an i/o channel over run.

if the dell still has the service tag number you can enter that at dell support an see if the drivers are up to date
for XP. you may need a firmware patch or two, especially when you mention drives disappearing in the
device manager. they are not hard to install.

I used to support dell systems when I was in IT management and their self directed service is very good.

(dropped gateway for dell for not supporting systems. Gateway sold me systems for my CAD group with old Ethernet drivers that caused daily network crashes. we wasted a lot of man hours chasing those gremlins caused by gateway not shipping the latest drivers. They blamed 3com of course, I changed my supplier. )


I would start here:

http://support.dell.com/support/downloads/driverslist.aspx?c=us&l=en&am p;s=gen&os=WW1&osl=en&catid=&impid=&SystemID=LAT_PNT_PM _D600



another thought:

If I had a older latitude, I would likely put Linux on it.
I can burn you a copy if you'd like. (or you can download them, but if you can't burn???? )
I have both Suse and Red Hat distributions for intel chips.
(others for motorola and PowerPC)

the linux news groups are very good at helping newbies.

driver support for some hardware can get tricky.





[Edited on 9/8/2009 by spacemonkey]

 

____________________
Keep on Smiling


 

Extreme Peach



Karma:
Posts: 1480
(1480 all sites)
Registered: 6/29/2005
Status: Offline

  posted on 9/17/2009 at 05:00 PM
Brofan, are you still having problems with this PC?
If so, read on.
If you think that you might need more RAM, here is a way to make it seem like
you added RAM, without opening the case.
I did this on my XP machine with 512 MB RAM,
It really improved performance.

I got the following, from Blackviper.com
(There's a list of services that can be turned off, or disabled safely there)

http://www.blackviper.com/WinXP/servicecfg.htm

quote:
Stop everything from starting with Windows that doesn't need to be running all the time.
The stuff will still work when you need it.
There is a small utility called StartupCPL .
When installed it puts an icon in the Control Panel named Startup
When opened you can stop programs/apps from starting automatically by removing the checkmarks from the little boxes.

StartupCPL click the link below to start the DL,

http://www.mlin.net/files/StartupCPL_EXE.zip


You can also gain performance by making a few other adjustments.

Go to the Control Panel
Double click the System icon
Click on the Advanced tab
Where it says Performance click on Settings
Put a dot in the circle by Adjust for best performance.
Click Apply
Click OK
That makes the borders & toolbar turn gray. . . to fix that,
Right click anywhere on the desktop there isn't a icon
On the menu click Properties
When the box opens click the Appearance tab
Where it says Windows and buttons use the drop down menu to set it to XP style
Click Apply
Click OK

Go back to the Control Panel
Double click Administrative Tools
Double click Services
Disable some junk that isn't neccessary
Double click Error reporting service
Where it says Startup type set it to Disabled
Click Stop
Click Apply
Click OK
Do the same for,
Task Scheduler [unless you use it
Do "Help & Support but set it to Manual instead of disabled.


I didn't have to do this next part. But if you want to try it, I would suggest you Back up your registry.

quote:

If you have Office installed you probably have "ctfmon.exe" running
It is listed in StartupCPL but if you stop it it will start again.
It is used for "Alternative user input" in Office.
Unless you use something like speech recognition software for office you can get rid of ctfmon.exe.
It is a real resources hog !

Copy & paste to Start?Run ,

Regsvr32.exe /u msctf.dll

Click OK

Next Copy & paste to Start>Run

Regsvr32.exe /u msimtf.dll

Click OK

Restart the unit & it should be a tad peppier !

The lighter the load on the CPU/memory the faster the unit is.


Now see if you can burn a CD without defects.

Make a list of every change you make so you can change it back later if you have to.

Hope it helps.



[Edited on 9/17/2009 by punknseed]

 

True Peach



Karma:
Posts: 11252
(11270 all sites)
Registered: 3/8/2002
Status: Offline

  posted on 10/18/2009 at 12:45 AM
This is great. Thanks so much, punknseed and spacekmonkey. I think I'll try punknseed's method first....and I agree with you both, I thought 512 MB of RAM was not enough....tried to save a few bucks (I'm in between jobs) by bying a cheap laptop and since I had Dells (first a Latitude just like the one I have and then an Inspiron) at my last job with GE and never had any problems burning for years this had been pretty frustrating. I should have just bit the bullet and coughed a couple of extra hundred bucks for a new one. Like they say, you get what you pay for.

Thanks again, guys

 

____________________
"Love Like You've Never Been Hurt"-Satchel Paige

 
 


Powered by XForum 1.81.1 by Trollix Software


Privacy | Terms of Service
The ALLMAN BROTHERS BAND name, The ALLMAN BROTHERS name, likenesses, logos, mushroom design and peach truck are all registered trademarks of THE ABB MERCHANDISING CO., INC. whose rights are specifically reserved. Any artwork, visual, or audio representations used on this web site CONTAINING ANY REGISTERED TRADEMARKS are under license from The ABB MERCHANDISING CO., INC. A REVOCABLE, GRATIS LICENSE IS GRANTED TO ALL REGISTERED PEACH CORP MEMBERS FOR The DOWNLOADING OF ONE COPY FOR PERSONAL USE ONLY. ANY DISTRIBUTION OR REPRODUCTION OF THE TRADEMARKS CONTAINED HEREIN ARE PROHIBITED AND ARE SPECIFICALLY RESERVED BY THE ABB MERCHANDISING CO.,INC.
site by Hittin' the Web Group with www.experiencewasabi3d.com