Don't click or your IP will be banned


Hittin' The Web with the Allman Brothers Band Forum
You are not logged in

< Last Thread   Next Thread >Ascending sortDescending sorting  
Author: Subject: I-Tunes question???

True Peach





Posts: 14557
(14557 all sites)
Registered: 3/28/2006
Status: Offline

  posted on 11/25/2008 at 04:41 PM
Is it possible to set up seperate accounts for i-tunes on the same computer so that you can download seperate catalogs of different music to seperate i-pods??? Greatful for any help.

 

____________________
Pete

 
Replies:

True Peach



Karma:
Posts: 10187
(10387 all sites)
Registered: 8/9/2003
Status: Offline

  posted on 11/25/2008 at 04:46 PM
I had the hardest time with that. I lost most of my library trying to set it up. Thankfully I got most of it back off some files. I am not to smart at these tasks. I was thinking about getting a new one, and wondered if I could use my current library with the new Ipod.

I have found some answers here, and some confusions...........

http://discussions.apple.com/index.jspa

[Edited on 11/25/2008 by rottinpeach]

 

____________________

 

Peach Master



Karma:
Posts: 966
(966 all sites)
Registered: 4/6/2007
Status: Offline

  posted on 11/25/2008 at 04:53 PM
Please. I'm scared to download any new song that says I have to 'update my I-Tunes to 7.0' or whatever..I'm scared the 'update' will wipe out my existing library or render it useless against my current Nano. I'm always in the dark on this stuff. Sux.
Good luck.

 

Zen Peach



Karma:
Posts: 19963
(20161 all sites)
Registered: 11/28/2001
Status: Offline

  posted on 11/25/2008 at 06:54 PM
I have one on my work computer and one at home and that's good enough for me.
 
E-Mail User

Zen Peach



Karma:
Posts: 25201
(25201 all sites)
Registered: 9/7/2005
Status: Offline

  posted on 11/25/2008 at 06:57 PM
you can't have separate accounts on the same computer with itunes. It is not designed to handle that.

you can manage more than one Ipod from itunes. you have to manage them manually though.


If you "lose" your itunes library it probably isn't lost. Just the DB index is corrupt.
the only solution is to search the hard drive and open audio files with itunes to get them
back in the itunes library Database. It is a big pain, they should have a utility to recover the
library database automatically. But they don't.

probably you could write a script to do it, just recursively search the nodes of the itunes library file structure.


 

____________________
Keep on Smiling


 

Ultimate Peach



Karma:
Posts: 3475
(3476 all sites)
Registered: 3/10/2006
Status: Offline

  posted on 11/25/2008 at 08:01 PM
I have two iPods that run from the same iTunes. They have different music on them. I have no problem handling them seperately. Also I always update with iTunes asked me to, and no problem there either.

 

____________________
We can bomb the world to pieces, but we can't bomb it into peace. - Michael Franti

 

True Peach



Karma:
Posts: 10187
(10387 all sites)
Registered: 8/9/2003
Status: Offline

  posted on 11/25/2008 at 08:40 PM
quote:
I have one on my work computer and one at home and that's good enough for me.



Now that is pretty slick, because I can only use one computer for mine. I plug mine up to the computer at home and I get a window that says it will erase my ipod contents and replace it with the library at home. The library on the computer at work has all my songs on it. The library at home has minimal stuff on it. I have them both clicked as authorized too. Lately since my ipod has a bunch of static noise on it, I use my library at work to burn CD's so I can put on a Cd player at home. I gave up on it.....LOL

 

____________________

 

True Peach



Karma:
Posts: 14557
(14557 all sites)
Registered: 3/28/2006
Status: Offline

  posted on 11/25/2008 at 09:08 PM
quote:
I have two iPods that run from the same iTunes. They have different music on them. I have no problem handling them seperately. Also I always update with iTunes asked me to, and no problem there either.



How do you put seperate music on each i-pod from the same i-tunes account???

 

____________________
Pete


 

Zen Peach



Karma:
Posts: 67471
(67832 all sites)
Registered: 11/28/2001
Status: Offline

  posted on 11/25/2008 at 09:14 PM
quote:
you can't have separate accounts on the same computer with itunes. It is not designed to handle that.

you can manage more than one Ipod from itunes. you have to manage them manually though.


If you "lose" your itunes library it probably isn't lost. Just the DB index is corrupt.
the only solution is to search the hard drive and open audio files with itunes to get them
back in the itunes library Database. It is a big pain, they should have a utility to recover the
library database automatically. But they don't.

probably you could write a script to do it, just recursively search the nodes of the itunes library file structure.






Geek.......................

 

____________________

 

True Peach



Karma:
Posts: 10187
(10387 all sites)
Registered: 8/9/2003
Status: Offline

  posted on 11/25/2008 at 09:41 PM
quote:
you can't have separate accounts on the same computer with itunes. It is not designed to handle that.

you can manage more than one Ipod from itunes. you have to manage them manually though.


If you "lose" your itunes library it probably isn't lost. Just the DB index is corrupt.
the only solution is to search the hard drive and open audio files with itunes to get them
back in the itunes library Database. It is a big pain, they should have a utility to recover the
library database automatically. But they don't.

probably you could write a script to do it, just recursively search the nodes of the itunes library file structure.







That is what I had to do. It was a pain.

 

____________________

 

Extreme Peach



Karma:
Posts: 1907
(1909 all sites)
Registered: 3/16/2002
Status: Offline

  posted on 11/26/2008 at 02:50 PM
quote:
quote:
I have one on my work computer and one at home and that's good enough for me.



Now that is pretty slick, because I can only use one computer for mine. I plug mine up to the computer at home and I get a window that says it will erase my ipod contents and replace it with the library at home. The library on the computer at work has all my songs on it. The library at home has minimal stuff on it. I have them both clicked as authorized too. Lately since my ipod has a bunch of static noise on it, I use my library at work to burn CD's so I can put on a Cd player at home. I gave up on it.....LOL


You must have your iPod setup to sync directly to a computer, if you cilck it to manual, you will have no problem plugging it into your work computer.

 

Extreme Peach



Karma:
Posts: 1907
(1909 all sites)
Registered: 3/16/2002
Status: Offline

  posted on 11/26/2008 at 02:54 PM
quote:
quote:
I have two iPods that run from the same iTunes. They have different music on them. I have no problem handling them seperately. Also I always update with iTunes asked me to, and no problem there either.



How do you put seperate music on each i-pod from the same i-tunes account???


You have all the music for both iPods together in one iTunes and then keep each iPod on manual (instead having it automatically sync), then you can just copy the music you want to each iPod. Or you can create folders or playlists first and then just copy those folders to each iPod. It's actually quite simple.

Incidentally, I have never had an update erase or lose any of my information. And quite frankly, if you know where it is all being stored on you computer, you don't really have to worry about losing it. I do however suggest backing up every so often an external hard drive and if you have a huge iTunes account like I do, that can take some time.

 

True Peach



Karma:
Posts: 10187
(10387 all sites)
Registered: 8/9/2003
Status: Offline

  posted on 11/26/2008 at 03:12 PM
Thanks..........I'll give it a try.

Any of y'all get a lot of static sounds through your ipod??

 

____________________

 

Zen Peach



Karma:
Posts: 25201
(25201 all sites)
Registered: 9/7/2005
Status: Offline

  posted on 11/26/2008 at 03:28 PM
quote:
quote:
I have two iPods that run from the same iTunes. They have different music on them. I have no problem handling them seperately. Also I always update with iTunes asked me to, and no problem there either.



How do you put seperate music on each i-pod from the same i-tunes account???


You have to manually manage each ipod.



[Edited on 11/26/2008 by spacemonkey]

 

____________________
Keep on Smiling


 

Peach Master



Karma:
Posts: 719
(723 all sites)
Registered: 8/7/2002
Status: Offline

  posted on 11/26/2008 at 04:04 PM
My sons and I synch a couple of iPods from the same PC. We manage it by having different Windows user accounts in XP.

If I'm logged on my music will update the iPod, if my sons are logged on, their's will update their iPODs.

 

____________________
Disclaimer:

The thoughts in this post are merely or nearly the thoughts or lack there of, of the author. He fully accepts or denies responsibility for those thoughts or lack there of. He sincerely hopes that you take them seriously or don't.

 

Maximum Peach



Karma:
Posts: 9073
(9467 all sites)
Registered: 12/1/2001
Status: Offline

  posted on 11/26/2008 at 07:00 PM
Where's the pesky "play all songs at the same volume" control setting located? I found it once before...

Thanks.

 

____________________
"You shouldn't confuse things that are popular with things that are really good"--paraphrasing Bob Dylan.

 

Zen Peach



Karma:
Posts: 25201
(25201 all sites)
Registered: 9/7/2005
Status: Offline

  posted on 11/26/2008 at 10:11 PM
quote:
Where's the pesky "play all songs at the same volume" control setting located? I found it once before...

Thanks.




Preferences-> Playback -> Soundcheck

 

____________________
Keep on Smiling


 

Maximum Peach



Karma:
Posts: 9073
(9467 all sites)
Registered: 12/1/2001
Status: Offline

  posted on 11/27/2008 at 09:50 AM
quote:
quote:
Where's the pesky "play all songs at the same volume" control setting located? I found it once before...

Thanks.




Preferences-> Playback -> Soundcheck


Thank you, John. I did find that on iTunes on the computer.

Do I need to do the same thing on the iPod for playing it in the car, too? Even though that is the setting here at home, in the car Black Crowes songs are WAY louder than old Van Morrison, for example.

Plus, I'm in charge of the music for our staff holiday party next Friday. (They better be careful what they wished for...heh, heh.) The place where we're having it said to just bring an iPod and they'll hook it up to the room where our party will be. I'd prefer to have the four or five hours of songs all at the same volume for that event.

Again, thank you!

 

____________________
"You shouldn't confuse things that are popular with things that are really good"--paraphrasing Bob Dylan.

 

Zen Peach



Karma:
Posts: 25201
(25201 all sites)
Registered: 9/7/2005
Status: Offline

  posted on 11/29/2008 at 02:35 AM
quote:
quote:
you can't have separate accounts on the same computer with itunes. It is not designed to handle that.

you can manage more than one Ipod from itunes. you have to manage them manually though.


If you "lose" your itunes library it probably isn't lost. Just the DB index is corrupt.
the only solution is to search the hard drive and open audio files with itunes to get them
back in the itunes library Database. It is a big pain, they should have a utility to recover the
library database automatically. But they don't.

probably you could write a script to do it, just recursively search the nodes of the itunes library file structure.






Geek.......................


so would you search depth first ?

 

____________________
Keep on Smiling


 

Zen Peach



Karma:
Posts: 25201
(25201 all sites)
Registered: 9/7/2005
Status: Offline

  posted on 11/29/2008 at 02:37 AM
quote:
quote:
quote:
Where's the pesky "play all songs at the same volume" control setting located? I found it once before...

Thanks.




Preferences-> Playback -> Soundcheck


Thank you, John. I did find that on iTunes on the computer.

Do I need to do the same thing on the iPod for playing it in the car, too? Even though that is the setting here at home, in the car Black Crowes songs are WAY louder than old Van Morrison, for example.

Plus, I'm in charge of the music for our staff holiday party next Friday. (They better be careful what they wished for...heh, heh.) The place where we're having it said to just bring an iPod and they'll hook it up to the room where our party will be. I'd prefer to have the four or five hours of songs all at the same volume for that event.

Again, thank you!


on the ipod itself it is in the preferences for sound. Menu up to the top level of the Ipod then scroll down
to preferences.

peace

 

____________________
Keep on Smiling


 
 


Powered by XForum 1.81.1 by Trollix Software


Privacy | Terms of Service
The ALLMAN BROTHERS BAND name, The ALLMAN BROTHERS name, likenesses, logos, mushroom design and peach truck are all registered trademarks of THE ABB MERCHANDISING CO., INC. whose rights are specifically reserved. Any artwork, visual, or audio representations used on this web site CONTAINING ANY REGISTERED TRADEMARKS are under license from The ABB MERCHANDISING CO., INC. A REVOCABLE, GRATIS LICENSE IS GRANTED TO ALL REGISTERED PEACH CORP MEMBERS FOR The DOWNLOADING OF ONE COPY FOR PERSONAL USE ONLY. ANY DISTRIBUTION OR REPRODUCTION OF THE TRADEMARKS CONTAINED HEREIN ARE PROHIBITED AND ARE SPECIFICALLY RESERVED BY THE ABB MERCHANDISING CO.,INC.
site by Hittin' the Web Group with www.experiencewasabi3d.com