Don't click or your IP will be banned


Hittin' The Web with the Allman Brothers Band Forum
You are not logged in

< Last Thread   Next Thread >Ascending sortDescending sorting  
Author: Subject: Changing TAO to DAO

Peach Master





Posts: 765
(883 all sites)
Registered: 4/19/2007
Status: Offline

  posted on 9/28/2008 at 05:57 PM
So I have some TAO discs that i have gotten in trades and a couple tao vines, and I was wondering if there is a way to reburn or change them in DAO. I took my 9/16/71 tao vine and ripped the tracks to the pc and then clicked the Disk at once option, but my newly burned cd still has gaps between the tracks. i am also conducting a trade right now and would like to burn a couple shows that i have in TAO in DAO format for this trade. I have been trying to fix this but have been killing quite a few discs. any help would be appreciated. thanks.

 

____________________
Dickey Betts

Photobucket

 
Replies:

Peach Master



Karma:
Posts: 560
(560 all sites)
Registered: 7/26/2003
Status: Offline

  posted on 9/28/2008 at 06:08 PM
This is not an easy task, but it is possible. I've had best luck using EAC (exact as copy) software. Check out: http://www.exactascopy.de/en/

This is under FAQ

I burned a continous CD in TAO by accident… Is it possible to remove the standard 2 second gap automatically?
Best possibility would be to extract all tracks with a read offset of -5000 and then load each track into the EAC WAV editor and use “Remove leading and trailing silence”. Then you should be able again to write them without gaps. It would be possible to remove them also by offset correction and gap detection, but for that you would need and use the exact combined offset of the writer.


I hope this helps you.



[Edited on 9/28/2008 by ljramsey]

[Edited on 9/28/2008 by ljramsey]

 

A Peach Supreme



Karma:
Posts: 2417
(2420 all sites)
Registered: 11/30/2001
Status: Offline

  posted on 9/28/2008 at 06:41 PM
I agree that EAC is the way to go but I've never been able to eliminate the gaps w/out still getting a "click" between the tracks.

 

____________________
"Please don't confront me with my failures ... I'm aware of them"

 

Zen Peach



Karma:
Posts: 25201
(25201 all sites)
Registered: 9/7/2005
Status: Offline

  posted on 9/28/2008 at 07:19 PM
I have good luck with Peak editing out the silences without any clicks or pops.


you can get a 2 week free trial here

http://www.bias-inc.com/downloads/freeTrials/index.php?product=peakLe6

 

____________________
Keep on Smiling


 

Extreme Peach



Karma:
Posts: 1184
(1184 all sites)
Registered: 2/2/2007
Status: Offline

  posted on 9/29/2008 at 10:18 AM
..... but have been killing quite a few discs.

Use rewritables

 

Extreme Peach



Karma:
Posts: 1181
(1181 all sites)
Registered: 4/23/2002
Status: Offline

  posted on 9/29/2008 at 11:38 AM
To do this probably you need a simple WAV editor.

EAC the files onto your HD.
Open the WAV editor and then manually remove the pre & post gap of silence. This works 100% and it works seamlessly.

Downside - a bit of a pain in the a**.

 

____________________
I will never again consider abandoning my principles to strike a bargain

 

A Peach Supreme



Karma:
Posts: 2406
(2406 all sites)
Registered: 11/14/2003
Status: Offline

  posted on 9/29/2008 at 01:19 PM
quote:
I agree that EAC is the way to go but I've never been able to eliminate the gaps w/out still getting a "click" between the tracks.


you have to cut the wav where it crosses the central line, zoom in get it exact. This is using an editor like Billy_Kain is refering too . I still use Cool Edit Pro for this stuff.

 

____________________

 

A Peach Supreme



Karma:
Posts: 2406
(2406 all sites)
Registered: 11/14/2003
Status: Offline

  posted on 9/29/2008 at 01:21 PM
actually, you could probably do it with CDWAV just make the "silences" tracks in their own right then delete them after wards. Just always remember to cut where the wav crosses the middle line.

 

____________________

 

A Peach Supreme



Karma:
Posts: 2449
(2449 all sites)
Registered: 9/19/2007
Status: Offline

  posted on 9/29/2008 at 01:26 PM
I thought this was about a little yin/yang action

 

____________________
The heavens declare the glory of God
the skies proclaim the work of his hands
Day after day they pour forth speech
night after night they display knowledge
There is no speech or language
where their voice is not heard

[img]http://science.nature

 

Extreme Peach



Karma:
Posts: 1907
(1909 all sites)
Registered: 3/16/2002
Status: Offline

  posted on 9/29/2008 at 04:26 PM
quote:
So I have some TAO discs that i have gotten in trades and a couple tao vines, and I was wondering if there is a way to reburn or change them in DAO. I took my 9/16/71 tao vine and ripped the tracks to the pc and then clicked the Disk at once option, but my newly burned cd still has gaps between the tracks. i am also conducting a trade right now and would like to burn a couple shows that i have in TAO in DAO format for this trade. I have been trying to fix this but have been killing quite a few discs. any help would be appreciated. thanks.


If you get a chance, PM. We go over some things to do, but also, I have a lot of shows, and I have fixed some too, so maybe we can just get you hooked up, so you don't have to spend hours doing it.

 

A Peach Supreme



Karma:
Posts: 2406
(2406 all sites)
Registered: 11/14/2003
Status: Offline

  posted on 9/30/2008 at 04:46 AM
quote:
quote:
So I have some TAO discs that i have gotten in trades and a couple tao vines, and I was wondering if there is a way to reburn or change them in DAO. I took my 9/16/71 tao vine and ripped the tracks to the pc and then clicked the Disk at once option, but my newly burned cd still has gaps between the tracks. i am also conducting a trade right now and would like to burn a couple shows that i have in TAO in DAO format for this trade. I have been trying to fix this but have been killing quite a few discs. any help would be appreciated. thanks.


If you get a chance, PM. We go over some things to do, but also, I have a lot of shows, and I have fixed some too, so maybe we can just get you hooked up, so you don't have to spend hours doing it.


Nice idea I'll help too,

List the shows here you are having troubles with

 

____________________

 

Peach Pro



Karma:
Posts: 325
(326 all sites)
Registered: 8/25/2007
Status: Offline

  posted on 9/30/2008 at 05:41 AM
Copied from the ABB 9/16/71 V4 *VINE* thread:
_______________________________________________________________
Reseed DAO (no gaps) to GuitarPlaynTaylor * 9/30 *:
Someone above has kept the originals, *sigh* and sent out a TAO copy,
(has gaps between tracks).
The originals belong to the seeder. You are not supposed to keep them, only pass
them along. *sigh again*

If you got a TAO copy (gaps), please sign up again.
jdbs2
_________________________________________________________________

 
 


Powered by XForum 1.81.1 by Trollix Software


Privacy | Terms of Service
The ALLMAN BROTHERS BAND name, The ALLMAN BROTHERS name, likenesses, logos, mushroom design and peach truck are all registered trademarks of THE ABB MERCHANDISING CO., INC. whose rights are specifically reserved. Any artwork, visual, or audio representations used on this web site CONTAINING ANY REGISTERED TRADEMARKS are under license from The ABB MERCHANDISING CO., INC. A REVOCABLE, GRATIS LICENSE IS GRANTED TO ALL REGISTERED PEACH CORP MEMBERS FOR The DOWNLOADING OF ONE COPY FOR PERSONAL USE ONLY. ANY DISTRIBUTION OR REPRODUCTION OF THE TRADEMARKS CONTAINED HEREIN ARE PROHIBITED AND ARE SPECIFICALLY RESERVED BY THE ABB MERCHANDISING CO.,INC.
site by Hittin' the Web Group with www.experiencewasabi3d.com