Don't click or your IP will be banned


Hittin' The Web with the Allman Brothers Band Forum
You are not logged in

< Last Thread   Next Thread ><<  1    2    3  >>Ascending sortDescending sorting  
Author: Subject: EAC vs Disc to Disc

Extreme Peach





Posts: 1365
(1365 all sites)
Registered: 1/15/2002
Status: Offline

  posted on 3/9/2004 at 11:16 AM
Hey gang....

someone had asked me this question, and i really didnt know the correct answer, so i figured i'd see what you all had to say.

What is the diference, if any, between using EAC to make a copy of a disc or using a "copy disc to disc" feature with your burner program if you have 2 drives? is there a generational loss with a disc to disc copy??

feel free to talk amongst yourselves


thanks in advance

 

____________________
http://db.etree.org/baldvinny

 
E-Mail User Visit User's Homepage
Replies:

A Peach Supreme



Karma:
Posts: 2342
(2342 all sites)
Registered: 11/5/2002
Status: Offline

  posted on 3/9/2004 at 12:04 PM
Look Out here they come! You can end up with diginoise going disc to disc on a PC. If you have a stand alone burner then it is ok. I have done a whole bunch of Disc to disc with no problem but I stopped as soon as I read here that it can cause problems. I still do it from time to time whem i am copying for myself. I figure if it sounds bad I can do it over the right way.

I think they say "Friends Don't let Friends burn on the fly"

 

____________________
"With the help of God and true friends I've come to realize,
I still have two strong legs and even wings to fly"

 

Sublime Peach



Karma:
Posts: 7260
(7342 all sites)
Registered: 11/29/2001
Status: Offline

  posted on 3/9/2004 at 12:47 PM
On the fly burning, or disk to disk, is so frowned upon in the trading community, that your name will become mud (or Frank) if found out....may as well burn TAO if you burn on the fly.

 

____________________
I have an idea: let's pretend we're real human beings.

 
E-Mail User

World Class Peach



Karma:
Posts: 5504
(5562 all sites)
Registered: 7/14/2003
Status: Offline

  posted on 3/9/2004 at 12:54 PM
Thanks for the tips, burn on the fly using TAO. Thanks!!
Bobby

 

____________________
My momma said typing would be a good thing to know....that was BEFORE computers....
Bobby from CT

 

Extreme Peach



Karma:
Posts: 1181
(1181 all sites)
Registered: 4/23/2002
Status: Offline

  posted on 3/9/2004 at 12:59 PM
What people seem to not realize is that on the fly burning does add pops/noise & other aural treasures since it is by nature, on the fly. If you have EAC set up correctly (I emphasize = set up correctly with the offsets adjusted) you can produce PERFECT digital clones of your original.

Also, it is almost as fast as on the fly anyway, since you burn your discs from the HD.

I would expect that anyone who prefers to burn on the fly; they mention it upfront )so you both can decide if you want to go ahead with the trade or not)

Comes back to clear & honest communication.

That is all.

 

____________________
I will never again consider abandoning my principles to strike a bargain

 

World Class Peach



Karma:
Posts: 5504
(5562 all sites)
Registered: 7/14/2003
Status: Offline

  posted on 3/9/2004 at 01:10 PM
Billy is correct. Also, EAC will repair minor glitches in the wav file it rips from the source disc onto your hard drive. If you are going to trade or B+P you should definately use EAC. Also, you MUST configure EAC to your specific burner and the other offsets or it WILL NOT work correctly.

 

____________________
My momma said typing would be a good thing to know....that was BEFORE computers....
Bobby from CT

 

True Peach



Karma:
Posts: 14277
(14329 all sites)
Registered: 12/20/2001
Status: Offline

  posted on 3/9/2004 at 01:19 PM
quote:
Thanks for the tips, burn on the fly using TAO. Thanks!!
Bobby


Don't forget have at least 3 other programs running on your PC at the same time (e.g., a web browser, a game, and your email). Make sure you do a lot of printing, too - it's almost like adding a whole new percussion session to the music you're copying.

 

____________________

 

True Peach



Karma:
Posts: 10427
(10424 all sites)
Registered: 11/7/2003
Status: Offline

  posted on 3/9/2004 at 01:26 PM
I just got in the biggest trade I've ever done since I started trading a few months ago--35 discs. It's not someone on this board, it's from my other trading hangout. I've been listening to them, and at least half so far have digital "chits"--it is very annoying. Is this from burning on the fly or from surfing the web while burning?

If you were me, would you approach the trader to make things right, or just never offer these up from trades and count it as a lesson learned?

 

Extreme Peach



Karma:
Posts: 1365
(1365 all sites)
Registered: 1/15/2002
Status: Offline

  posted on 3/9/2004 at 01:47 PM
glad i asked...i use EAC cause i only have one drive operatable at the moment (luckily its the combo drive). I'm looking into a new computer and the question came up when i was chatting with a friend of mine. thanks for the info gang

 

____________________
http://db.etree.org/baldvinny

 
E-Mail User

World Class Peach



Karma:
Posts: 5504
(5562 all sites)
Registered: 7/14/2003
Status: Offline

  posted on 3/9/2004 at 01:50 PM
You might be able to remove most of the glitches and noise using EAC and reburning, you could try a disc or two and see.

 

____________________
My momma said typing would be a good thing to know....that was BEFORE computers....
Bobby from CT

 

Peach Head



Karma:
Posts: 110
(110 all sites)
Registered: 2/23/2004
Status: Offline

  posted on 3/9/2004 at 02:07 PM
newbie here.... explain what some of the abbreviation such as TAO or EAC....also if you have cd's with gaps is there a solution for the gaps...thanks
 

Extreme Peach



Karma:
Posts: 1181
(1181 all sites)
Registered: 4/23/2002
Status: Offline

  posted on 3/9/2004 at 02:34 PM
Hey there,

It is always fun to get into trading. Many people here have it as a passion/obsession. However, you should figure out what you are doing before trading a bunch of shows.

DAO = Disc At Once (no gaps in between the tracks) = this is a must ... You are not making compilation discs here, where you may want gaps. Most likely you are burning shows. There should be no gaps.

EAC = exact audio copy software.

Go have a look at Etree.org under their FAQs section to get up to speed & then go crazy and trade away.

 

____________________
I will never again consider abandoning my principles to strike a bargain

 

Zen Peach



Karma:
Posts: 21270
(22774 all sites)
Registered: 8/25/2002
Status: Offline

  posted on 3/9/2004 at 04:15 PM
I have a question?

What is the difference between Nero, and EAC? Other than Nero is 30- 60 dollars and easy to use w/ any burner- and EAC is free, and a pain in the A$$ to setup?

If you have no interest in fixing TAO shows, or fixing the little "problems" in a show- why use EAC? As long as it goes to the hard drive first?

Just curious?

 

____________________

 

Zen Peach



Karma:
Posts: 19426
(20204 all sites)
Registered: 3/13/2003
Status: Offline

  posted on 3/9/2004 at 04:22 PM
one things for sure, unless you have one computer for burning and one for chatting, trading is a harsh mistress! you can only do one or the other - NEVER both.

 

____________________
you know there just ain't no telling

what a satisfied girl will do.

 
E-Mail User

Extreme Peach



Karma:
Posts: 1181
(1181 all sites)
Registered: 4/23/2002
Status: Offline

  posted on 3/9/2004 at 07:00 PM
quote:
If you have no interest in fixing TAO shows, or fixing the little "problems" in a show- why use EAC? As long as it goes to the hard drive first?

Just curious?


EAC is not really meant for fixing up problems with a track, you should use a WAV editing software for that (if you are so inclined to do so)

EAC does exactly what its name implies. When you have it confirgured correctly, it encodes a perfect digital clone to your HD. No other method does this. Can you copy the files to your HD = Sure you can. Will they be digital clones = NO.

To me the point is that the 20th copy exacted from EAC will be just liske the original if they have been set up correct with nothing extra (pops/noises) that were not on the original. All other methods add or miss digital samples from the files. This is what causes problems.

 

____________________
I will never again consider abandoning my principles to strike a bargain

 

Peach Extraordinaire



Karma:
Posts: 4270
(4274 all sites)
Registered: 12/4/2002
Status: Offline

  posted on 3/9/2004 at 08:15 PM
quote:
EAC does exactly what its name implies. When you have it confirgured correctly, it encodes a perfect digital clone to your HD. No other method does this. Can you copy the files to your HD = Sure you can. Will they be digital clones = NO.

To me the point is that the 20th copy exacted from EAC will be just liske the original if they have been set up correct with nothing extra (pops/noises) that were not on the original. All other methods add or miss digital samples from the files. This is what causes problems.


Precisely.

IF EAC is in SECURE MODE it will recheck the read from the disc to what has been written to the HD for comparison, it will keep trying to get it right. If you have ever had EAC take a really long time to extract a disc, it is having a problem with that. This is what the track quality percentage you see means. If for example you see like 97% or something, it doesn't mean the track is 97% accurate to the track you ripped, it is an indicator of how much it had to re-read to get it right. It still will be a 100% clone.

[Edited on 3/10/2004 by Denza]

 

____________________

 

Zen Peach



Karma:
Posts: 82619
(82978 all sites)
Registered: 4/16/2002
Status: Offline

  posted on 3/9/2004 at 08:25 PM
Here's a question.


I recently bought a nw computer with a faster cd rom drive that i had before.
With my old PC, the top "speed" was around 3X. Now, its 5.5-6X.. Is somethng wrong, or is it just because I am using a faster ROM drive?

 

____________________
RIP Cindy Fischer
RIP Hugh Duty
RIP John Ott

 

Extreme Peach



Karma:
Posts: 1181
(1181 all sites)
Registered: 4/23/2002
Status: Offline

  posted on 3/9/2004 at 11:04 PM
Hey,

the newer CD Rom certainly is a factor. I upgraded a few months ago and have seen a noticable improvement. Also, the faster the processor the better as well.

 

____________________
I will never again consider abandoning my principles to strike a bargain

 

Extreme Peach



Karma:
Posts: 1037
(1037 all sites)
Registered: 10/17/2002
Status: Offline

  posted on 3/10/2004 at 06:34 AM
If anyone still has the least doubt about the advantage of using EAC over "on the fly" (and they shouldn't - this is a no-brainer), bear in mind that, if you have two drives on your PC, you can use the "Copy CD" function on EAC; this does everything that normal extraction on EAC does, but also (provided you put a blank in your burner) creates a cue sheet, burns a copy from your HD and will delete the wav files from your HD when done.

The effect of this is to duplicate everything that on-the fly copying does, with NONE of the disadvantages.



[Edited on 3/10/2004 by PaulMcFadyen]

 
E-Mail User

Peach Head



Karma:
Posts: 71
(71 all sites)
Registered: 2/20/2004
Status: Offline

  posted on 3/10/2004 at 11:00 AM
When using Roxio, is making a music CD from a CD image similar to EAC? You must add the tracks from the CD to the list, and then click on "create CD hard disk image". The computer copies the CD to the hard disk and creates a file. Then, you can record as many copies as you like and the program will enable you to burn DAO. Is this the right way to do things?
 

A Peach Supreme



Karma:
Posts: 2342
(2342 all sites)
Registered: 11/5/2002
Status: Offline

  posted on 3/10/2004 at 11:09 AM
Someone tell us about timing problems. When I extract on EAC sometimes you get timing problems but no errors. You burn the disc, it sounds fine. If I have one timing problem I haven't worried about it. Every now & then you get a disc with tons of timing problems. And yes sometimes cleaning the disc helps but I am talking about timing problems unrelated to finger prints on the back of the disc.

[Edited on 3/10/2004 by KCJimmy]

 

____________________
"With the help of God and true friends I've come to realize,
I still have two strong legs and even wings to fly"

 

A Peach Supreme



Karma:
Posts: 2342
(2342 all sites)
Registered: 11/5/2002
Status: Offline

  posted on 3/10/2004 at 11:15 AM
One more while the experts are here.

Sometimes I will get a Write error that says the write was unsusccessfull. Ok I made a coaster. I started paying more attention and found that very often the error occurs after the disc is written, the tray door has opened & closed (why does it do that?) and the screen says it is writing the lead out. I've never sent one to anybody but I took one of those discs and it played just fine. Any idea whats going on there, why the error occurs at the very end of the process? I assume I am right to toos the discs even though they play fine.

[Edited on 3/10/2004 by KCJimmy]

 

____________________
"With the help of God and true friends I've come to realize,
I still have two strong legs and even wings to fly"

 

True Peach



Karma:
Posts: 10427
(10424 all sites)
Registered: 11/7/2003
Status: Offline

  posted on 3/10/2004 at 11:21 AM
Two questions:

What have you folks done when you've received bad discs in a trade?

My understanding has always been that surfing the web, typing, printing, etc. is always a no-no when extracting and burning. Has anyone ever had problems burning/extracting if there is a steady load in the background (like continuing to download an established torrent)?

 

A Peach Supreme



Karma:
Posts: 2342
(2342 all sites)
Registered: 11/5/2002
Status: Offline

  posted on 3/10/2004 at 11:27 AM
When you are burning from a pc you don't want it connected to the internet, you don't want it doing anything else at all while burning.

 

____________________
"With the help of God and true friends I've come to realize,
I still have two strong legs and even wings to fly"

 

Extreme Peach



Karma:
Posts: 1181
(1181 all sites)
Registered: 4/23/2002
Status: Offline

  posted on 3/10/2004 at 11:41 AM
quote:
Two questions:

What have you folks done when you've received bad discs in a trade?

My understanding has always been that surfing the web, typing, printing, etc. is always a no-no when extracting and burning. Has anyone ever had problems burning/extracting if there is a steady load in the background (like continuing to download an established torrent)?


My experience is that when you are burning, close ALL other applications. This minimizes errors and possible failures of the burn (maybe that is just me; but I have had very few errors)

For me, the sender has the weight to make it right if they have sent you bad discs. I am speaking here of not a tiny pop or tick but major errors. It was not your fault that the disc was bad, send back the bad disc and request a re-do (all politely - comes back to clear communication)


quote:
Sometimes I will get a Write error that says the write was unsusccessfull. Ok I made a coaster. I started paying more attention and found that very often the error occurs after the disc is written, the tray door has opened & closed (why does it do that?) and the screen says it is writing the lead out. I've never sent one to anybody but I took one of those discs and it played just fine. Any idea whats going on there, why the error occurs at the very end of the process? I assume I am right to toos the discs even though they play fine.


Hey Jimmy,

Seems to me like you are getting errors in closing the session. By any chance do you have other applications open when this happens ? Maybe have a look at your burn settings or reduce the burn speed one or two notches ..

 

____________________
I will never again consider abandoning my principles to strike a bargain

 
<<  1    2    3  >>  


Powered by XForum 1.81.1 by Trollix Software


Privacy | Terms of Service
The ALLMAN BROTHERS BAND name, The ALLMAN BROTHERS name, likenesses, logos, mushroom design and peach truck are all registered trademarks of THE ABB MERCHANDISING CO., INC. whose rights are specifically reserved. Any artwork, visual, or audio representations used on this web site CONTAINING ANY REGISTERED TRADEMARKS are under license from The ABB MERCHANDISING CO., INC. A REVOCABLE, GRATIS LICENSE IS GRANTED TO ALL REGISTERED PEACH CORP MEMBERS FOR The DOWNLOADING OF ONE COPY FOR PERSONAL USE ONLY. ANY DISTRIBUTION OR REPRODUCTION OF THE TRADEMARKS CONTAINED HEREIN ARE PROHIBITED AND ARE SPECIFICALLY RESERVED BY THE ABB MERCHANDISING CO.,INC.
site by Hittin' the Web Group with www.experiencewasabi3d.com