Don't click or your IP will be banned


Hittin' The Web with the Allman Brothers Band Forum
You are not logged in

< Last Thread   Next Thread >Ascending sortDescending sorting  
Author: Subject: Mac Apogee - w/ Soundtrack Pro?

True Peach





Posts: 13885
(13939 all sites)
Registered: 7/17/2002
Status: Offline

  posted on 12/25/2010 at 01:22 PM
Santa, er Donna Claus left me an Apogee interface for use with my new Mac. I plan on using it with the Soundtrack Pro system. Anybody got tips/tricks/advice for the Apogee interface?

Thanks a ton! And Merry Christmas to all!

"Rusty"

[Edited on 12/27/2010 by Rusty]

 

____________________
Music is love, and love is music, if you know what I mean.
People who believe in music are the happiest people I've ever seen.

Bill Ector, Randy Stephens, Dan Hills and a guy named BobO who I never met - Forever in my heart!

 
Replies:

World Class Peach



Karma:
Posts: 5463
(5472 all sites)
Registered: 12/14/2002
Status: Offline

  posted on 12/25/2010 at 02:00 PM
Lucky lucky man! That looks like a really sweet interface that should be relatively easy to use. Glancing at some of the pictures it looks like that 9-pin serial input gives you all of the input connections you need. I don't know much about Soundtrak Pro but would be curious to know what you think since I am definitely on the Garage band>Logic Pro evolution track myself.

Merry Christmas Rusty! Please tell Donna I send my best!

 

True Peach



Karma:
Posts: 13885
(13939 all sites)
Registered: 7/17/2002
Status: Offline

  posted on 12/27/2010 at 08:28 AM
Well, I asked Santa for this thing because a recording engineer/soundman that I know in Orlando said it was the greatest thing since sliced bread.

I am getting a lot of static/buzz initially - before an instrument is even plugged in. To be fair, I haven't had a lot of time to spend with it yet, so I'll keep plugging away. I'm thinking that I am probably missing a selection switch somewhere.

Surfing the net for answers, I see that a lot of folks have experienced initial problems - so I'm hoping it's a matter of me not holding my mouth right or something.

Hopefully, reports of positive progress will be coming soon ... but if any of y'all have any clues or tips - please jump in!

RB

 

____________________
Music is love, and love is music, if you know what I mean.

People who believe in music are the happiest people I've ever seen.



Bill Ector, Randy Stephens, Dan Hills and a guy named BobO who I never met - Forever in my heart!

 

Peach Master



Karma:
Posts: 528
(536 all sites)
Registered: 1/6/2009
Status: Offline

  posted on 12/27/2010 at 10:10 PM
quote:

I am getting a lot of static/buzz initially - before an instrument is even plugged in. To be fair, I haven't had a lot of time to spend with it yet, so I'll keep plugging away. I'm thinking that I am probably missing a selection switch somewhere.

Surfing the net for answers, I see that a lot of folks have experienced initial problems - so I'm hoping it's a matter of me not holding my mouth right or something.

Hopefully, reports of positive progress will be coming soon ... but if any of y'all have any clues or tips - please jump in!

RB


Rusty, not sure if this will be it as I'm not a Mac guy. I've just been reading a little about Garageband and one of the initial problems that some people were having was in the audio preferences. It needed to be changed to "line in" from the default of mic.

Hope this helps but like I said, I don't know much Mac, just started playing around with one.

Good luck, it looks like a pretty cool app.

 

True Peach



Karma:
Posts: 13885
(13939 all sites)
Registered: 7/17/2002
Status: Offline

  posted on 12/28/2010 at 08:36 AM
quote:
quote:

I am getting a lot of static/buzz initially - before an instrument is even plugged in. To be fair, I haven't had a lot of time to spend with it yet, so I'll keep plugging away. I'm thinking that I am probably missing a selection switch somewhere.

Surfing the net for answers, I see that a lot of folks have experienced initial problems - so I'm hoping it's a matter of me not holding my mouth right or something.

Hopefully, reports of positive progress will be coming soon ... but if any of y'all have any clues or tips - please jump in!

RB


Rusty, not sure if this will be it as I'm not a Mac guy. I've just been reading a little about Garageband and one of the initial problems that some people were having was in the audio preferences. It needed to be changed to "line in" from the default of mic.

Hope this helps but like I said, I don't know much Mac, just started playing around with one.

Good luck, it looks like a pretty cool app.


Thanks for your response!

I've been able to eliminate a good deal of the static. Some of it actually seems to come from the power supply.

My computer is a laptop (MacBook Pro). After scouring the internet for clues, I found a few tips. One of them was to use one of those 3-prong adaptors for AC plugs.
I discovered that running the laptop off the battery made a lot of the noise go away. I'm still working on a solution to use the unit while plugged in.

I am still very confident that this will be a very nice tool! I have been assured by a lot of audio gurus that it will be! Stay tuned!

 

____________________
Music is love, and love is music, if you know what I mean.

People who believe in music are the happiest people I've ever seen.



Bill Ector, Randy Stephens, Dan Hills and a guy named BobO who I never met - Forever in my heart!

 

World Class Peach



Karma:
Posts: 5463
(5472 all sites)
Registered: 12/14/2002
Status: Offline

  posted on 3/4/2011 at 11:10 PM
Hey Rusty, Got any updates on how this is working out for you?
 

Zen Peach



Karma:
Posts: 25201
(25201 all sites)
Registered: 9/7/2005
Status: Offline

  posted on 3/5/2011 at 12:02 AM
I am using the griffin imic interface, it will take a stereo mike or line in feed. USB $40 bucks at sweetwater.

It comes with finyl vinyl and I have used that to record bands live. I also Have Peak LE on a macbook.


I am concerned also about the noise from the powerbook wall wart. I would think you could find
a transformer at the right voltage that is cleaner than the Macbook wart.

Currently I use a Emac with my protools rack003 system in my
studio. THe new protools requires a intel based mac. SO I may have to use my MacBook for that system if I can't pickup a used intel mac mini on ebay. But the mini uses a wall wart also so the noise problem is still there.

The other nice thing about the iMic is it takes the DSP functions off the mother board which is very noisey
electronically. It only does 24bit at 48K so that is less than the apogee , more than the macbook.

I Record 24/96 on the Digidesign Rack 003.

I should ask my friends at sweetwater about clean powersupplys for a macbook



[Edited on 3/8/2011 by spacemonkey]

 

____________________
Keep on Smiling


 

World Class Peach



Karma:
Posts: 5463
(5472 all sites)
Registered: 12/14/2002
Status: Offline

  posted on 3/5/2011 at 12:18 AM
What about a power conditioner?

http://www.sweetwater.com/c960--Power_Conditioners


 

Zen Peach



Karma:
Posts: 25201
(25201 all sites)
Registered: 9/7/2005
Status: Offline

  posted on 3/7/2011 at 07:01 PM
a power conditioner would cleanup the power coming to the wall wart , but the wall wart is the problem.

It is not grounded, it also produces an noticable hum when the computer is charging the battery.

the 60 cycle hum comes from the lack of grounding and the hum from transformer load when charging. my contacts at sweetwater don't have a suggestion.

I 'll try the mac resellers, but I think using my powerbook as the host for my 003 Rack is not a
good solution. Unless I run on batteries only. I have 2 seven hour batteries.

I guess I keep looking for an Intel Mac Mini on Ebay

 

____________________
Keep on Smiling


 
 


Powered by XForum 1.81.1 by Trollix Software

Privacy | Terms of Service | Report Infringement | Personal Data Management | Contact Us
The ALLMAN BROTHERS BAND name, The ALLMAN BROTHERS name, likenesses, logos, mushroom design and peach truck are all registered trademarks of THE ABB MERCHANDISING CO., INC. whose rights are specifically reserved. Any artwork, visual, or audio representations used on this web site CONTAINING ANY REGISTERED TRADEMARKS are under license from The ABB MERCHANDISING CO., INC. A REVOCABLE, GRATIS LICENSE IS GRANTED TO ALL REGISTERED PEACH CORP MEMBERS FOR The DOWNLOADING OF ONE COPY FOR PERSONAL USE ONLY. ANY DISTRIBUTION OR REPRODUCTION OF THE TRADEMARKS CONTAINED HEREIN ARE PROHIBITED AND ARE SPECIFICALLY RESERVED BY THE ABB MERCHANDISING CO.,INC.
site by Hittin' the Web Group with www.experiencewasabi3d.com