Don't click or your IP will be banned


Hittin' The Web with the Allman Brothers Band Forum
You are not logged in

< Last Thread   Next Thread >Ascending sortDescending sorting  
Author: Subject: Land Line Phones vs Cell Phones...Cut The Cord?

Peach Pro





Posts: 429
(429 all sites)
Registered: 1/8/2010
Status: Offline

  posted on 2/5/2010 at 08:38 AM
AnnaRose3 raised a good question in another thread, so I thought I would give it one of It's own.

She asked: Who still has a land line phone and why?


I responded:

There are many reasons to still keep a landline hooked up though.
Most important one's
if you need 911...help finds you if you can't talk.
connect to the Internet.
Incoming calls are free.
If the power goes out, you can still use your phone.
Privacy.
Phone books still really only list landline numbers for businesses and residential.
That is only scratching the surface.

Too me, it is only saving a few dollars to cut your cord that is the benefit.
I'm not presuming to tell you how to spend your money, but when you weigh it all out, the scale is tipped torwards keeping a hardline.
...so many cool looking phones out there too, make a statement in your home.


What are you thoughts?


[Edited on 2/5/2010 by SpyNet]

 
Replies:

Peach Pro



Karma:
Posts: 251
(251 all sites)
Registered: 2/3/2009
Status: Offline

  posted on 2/5/2010 at 01:11 PM
No land line for probably 7 years now. Not necessary.

Internet runs through Cable or DSL now. You don't need a line.

If the power goes out, you might not be able to charge your cell phone, but you can definitely use it, and probably better than a land line, cause chances are if the power lines are down, so are the land telephone lines.

Don't know how much land lines cost, but save the cash and drop it.

 

Peach Master



Karma:
Posts: 585
(585 all sites)
Registered: 7/9/2004
Status: Offline

  posted on 2/5/2010 at 01:15 PM
The only thing holding me back is the connection to the house alarm system.
I still need a land line for that. Otherwise already 4 cell phones in the house.

 

True Peach



Karma:
Posts: 11675
(12118 all sites)
Registered: 1/8/2005
Status: Offline

  posted on 2/5/2010 at 01:41 PM
quote:
No land line for probably 7 years now. Not necessary.

Internet runs through Cable or DSL now. You don't need a line.

If the power goes out, you might not be able to charge your cell phone, but you can definitely use it, and probably better than a land line, cause chances are if the power lines are down, so are the land telephone lines.

Don't know how much land lines cost, but save the cash and drop it.

Don't you need a land line for DSL?

 

World Class Peach



Karma:
Posts: 5049
(5088 all sites)
Registered: 11/29/2001
Status: Offline

  posted on 2/5/2010 at 02:04 PM
we have an alarm too. It runs through the computer, if the power goes out, there's a back up battery system.....

 

____________________
Please support MusicNeverStops:TheTylerSeamanFoundation:
at www.tylersmusicroom.org

I Love Hittin' The Note Magazine (buy it!!)

 

Maximum Peach



Karma:
Posts: 8643
(8641 all sites)
Registered: 12/14/2004
Status: Offline

  posted on 2/5/2010 at 02:05 PM
quote:
Don't you need a land line for DSL?


No. Mine comes through the cable, as in cable TV.

I haven't had a land phone line in 2-3 years.

 

____________________
You want to talk to me
Go ahead and talk
Whatever you got to say to me
Won't come as any shock

 

A Peach Supreme



Karma:
Posts: 2621
(2621 all sites)
Registered: 1/5/2005
Status: Offline

  posted on 2/5/2010 at 02:21 PM
need land line for my fax machine and office, also i run ccard collections from home and need back up. So i rely on both cell and landlines.
 

Extreme Peach



Karma:
Posts: 1728
(1728 all sites)
Registered: 1/8/2004
Status: Offline

  posted on 2/5/2010 at 02:22 PM
Our land line is the same number I had from my bedroom phone when I was 15 . I refuse to get rid of it .
 

True Peach



Karma:
Posts: 11675
(12118 all sites)
Registered: 1/8/2005
Status: Offline

  posted on 2/5/2010 at 02:23 PM
quote:
quote:
Don't you need a land line for DSL?


No. Mine comes through the cable, as in cable TV.

I haven't had a land phone line in 2-3 years.

I don't think you have DSL. DSL is delivered over the phone line. You have cable.

 

Extreme Peach



Karma:
Posts: 1725
(1746 all sites)
Registered: 8/31/2002
Status: Offline

  posted on 2/5/2010 at 03:25 PM
Land-line only here - 99.9% for internet (dialup) use. Rarely do I make a phone call (and it never rings!! the Joy!). Cell-phones don't work in my area, so, no option, I wouldn't have one anyway. I do borrow one if I take a road-trip sometimes.

 

____________________
-- This sky where we live is no place to lose your wings, so love, love, love.

 

A Peach Supreme



Karma:
Posts: 2884
(2884 all sites)
Registered: 3/26/2004
Status: Offline

  posted on 2/5/2010 at 03:26 PM
quote:
need land line for my fax machine and office, also i run ccard collections from home and need back up. So i rely on both cell and landlines.


I need it for my fax as well . I not a phone guy , when I'm not working I seldom carry my cell phone with me .

 

____________________

 

A Peach Supreme



Karma:
Posts: 2956
(2961 all sites)
Registered: 3/3/2006
Status: Offline

  posted on 2/5/2010 at 03:33 PM
If we had better cell service at our house, we would ditch the landline...

 

____________________

 

Maximum Peach



Karma:
Posts: 9072
(9466 all sites)
Registered: 12/1/2001
Status: Offline

  posted on 2/5/2010 at 03:40 PM
I haven't had a land-line in at least three years, but then, I hardly use the phone. I'm startled when my cell phone rings...

 

____________________
"You shouldn't confuse things that are popular with things that are really good"--paraphrasing Bob Dylan.

 

Zen Peach



Karma:
Posts: 18683
(18743 all sites)
Registered: 2/9/2006
Status: Offline

  posted on 2/5/2010 at 03:58 PM
quote:
If we had better cell service at our house, we would ditch the landline...


Amen to that!... There are times when I wish I still had my land line...

 

____________________


 

Peach Bud



Karma:
Posts: 35
(35 all sites)
Registered: 2/22/2004
Status: Offline

  posted on 2/6/2010 at 07:41 PM


Don't you need a land line for DSL?


Yes you do need the physical line, but you don't need phone service.
We cancelled our phone service about a year ago, but kept the dsl.

 

____________________
Can't take it with you when you go!

 

Zen Peach



Karma:
Posts: 19026
(19030 all sites)
Registered: 10/5/2004
Status: Offline

  posted on 2/6/2010 at 07:45 PM
we have our land line phone in a pkg. deal w/our high speed internet & cable.....& haven't answered it in two yr's,LOL...about once a week i ck. it for messages. It does have a cool feature now tho. ..when it rings the nbr. shows up on our TV screen...

 

____________________

 

Extreme Peach



Karma:
Posts: 1574
(1580 all sites)
Registered: 10/8/2009
Status: Offline

  posted on 2/6/2010 at 10:25 PM
I haven't had a land line since 1999.

I get great cell service here, so why pay for another phone?

 

Extreme Peach



Karma:
Posts: 1456
(1465 all sites)
Registered: 2/25/2003
Status: Offline

  posted on 2/6/2010 at 10:50 PM
I know i'm in the minority here,but i've never had a cell phone.
And don't really have any desire to get one any time soon.
I don't even have call waiting or caller id on my home phone.
If i paid $1.00 for every call i made my bill wouldn't be over $15.00 a month.
If i didn't order pizza it would probably drop to about $5.00 a month lol.

 

____________________
"Always pursue your ideals, but don't be a dick about it" - Les Claypool

 

Zen Peach



Karma:
Posts: 25201
(25201 all sites)
Registered: 9/7/2005
Status: Offline

  posted on 2/6/2010 at 10:54 PM
need a land line for my Fax.

also have DSL


 

____________________
Keep on Smiling


 

Peach Extraordinaire



Karma:
Posts: 4950
(4949 all sites)
Registered: 3/28/2008
Status: Offline

  posted on 2/6/2010 at 11:39 PM
privacy.
got my cell for work and communicating when I'm on the road, but sometimes I don't want people / businesses, etc to even know how to contact me, and I don't want to have to worry about screening calls. When I get home I just put the cell down and don't look at it until the next morning. My friends know how to get me at home if they want me.

 

Extreme Peach



Karma:
Posts: 1845
(1845 all sites)
Registered: 4/23/2003
Status: Offline

  posted on 2/6/2010 at 11:47 PM
I just canceled my land line last week. We have four cell phones in our house, one for each of us. Our plan has free cell to cell, and my kids spend 90% of their time on the phone talking to someone on a cell. I understand that you can register your cell number with 911 to your street address, but I haven't looked into it yet. From my observation, landlines, like printed newspapers, are a thing of the past for a large majority of people under 40 and growing. I still have some reservations about canceling my land line, so we'll see. As for a phone line for a fax machine, you don't need that either. You can have a free fax number through one of several services on the internet that comes to your email, and prints on your printer. Just google "free fax".
 

World Class Peach



Karma:
Posts: 5060
(5061 all sites)
Registered: 8/27/2006
Status: Offline

  posted on 2/7/2010 at 12:12 PM
Until they design a cell phone that looks like this, i'm sticking with land lines.



 

Peach Master



Karma:
Posts: 574
(574 all sites)
Registered: 12/30/2004
Status: Offline

  posted on 2/7/2010 at 12:27 PM
We've been debating this for the last few weeks. Our son got Magic Jack because he had trouble with his cell phone connection here at home and needed to be available to his job but didn't want them calling our land line in the middle of the night and waking us up. He moved out a few weeks ago and has taken his Magic Jack with him...no waiting for telephone service people to come hook him up and he was able to keep the same number. The only thing I wish is that we could keep our same phone number. I just know as soon as we get rid of the land line, Magic Jack is going to be able to let you keep your number. I know it sounds silly but we've had the same number for over 25 years and for me it's the only thing stopping me from going with the Magic Jack.

We would save about $50 a month so I think we'll be doing this real soon.

T

 

____________________


all of us sleep...how many of us dream?

 

Peach Pro



Karma:
Posts: 470
(471 all sites)
Registered: 9/25/2007
Status: Offline

  posted on 2/7/2010 at 01:03 PM
Our household has been debating the land line issue too. We use DirecTV which requires us to connect the receivers to a phone jack so that program guides, firmware updates, etc. can be downloaded. If not for that, we would probably ditch the land line, although, the occasional cell signal dropouts through AT&T lead me to make many of my calls from home via the land line. I also recall that when the remnants of hurricane Katrina made their way through here that cell towers were out of commission for a time yet land line service was unaffected. Hard to beat the land line for reliability.

 

____________________
Bill Allen Photography - Live Concert Photos and More
http://www.billallenphotos.com

 
 


Powered by XForum 1.81.1 by Trollix Software


Privacy | Terms of Service
The ALLMAN BROTHERS BAND name, The ALLMAN BROTHERS name, likenesses, logos, mushroom design and peach truck are all registered trademarks of THE ABB MERCHANDISING CO., INC. whose rights are specifically reserved. Any artwork, visual, or audio representations used on this web site CONTAINING ANY REGISTERED TRADEMARKS are under license from The ABB MERCHANDISING CO., INC. A REVOCABLE, GRATIS LICENSE IS GRANTED TO ALL REGISTERED PEACH CORP MEMBERS FOR The DOWNLOADING OF ONE COPY FOR PERSONAL USE ONLY. ANY DISTRIBUTION OR REPRODUCTION OF THE TRADEMARKS CONTAINED HEREIN ARE PROHIBITED AND ARE SPECIFICALLY RESERVED BY THE ABB MERCHANDISING CO.,INC.
site by Hittin' the Web Group with www.experiencewasabi3d.com