Don't click or your IP will be banned


Hittin' The Web with the Allman Brothers Band Forum
You are not logged in

< Last Thread   Next Thread >Ascending sortDescending sorting  
Author: Subject: Audio Question- from computer to stereo

Peach Pro





Posts: 351
(352 all sites)
Registered: 5/13/2007
Status: Offline

  posted on 1/14/2010 at 12:23 PM
looking to buy something to transmit audio wirelessly from my computer to my stereo system. i run windows. i see many different options. I am on a wireless network at home, so i need something that won't interfere with that. Also i was looking for something that didn't need to be integrated into my home netwrok, as if it goes down or changes then i wouldnt have to change my trasmitter settings. Anyone have any recommendations on the subject? thanks

 

____________________

 
Visit User's Homepage
Replies:

True Peach



Karma:
Posts: 10335
(10336 all sites)
Registered: 12/22/2003
Status: Offline

  posted on 1/14/2010 at 12:58 PM
Unless the distance is too far, or it's too much trouble, by far the easiest solution is to run a wire from the sound card output to the stereo auxiliary input. The cable is very cheap and there are no settings to fuss with. Plug it in an you are done.

 

____________________

We're all Bozos on this bus!

 

Zen Peach



Karma:
Posts: 67592
(67953 all sites)
Registered: 11/28/2001
Status: Offline

  posted on 1/14/2010 at 01:28 PM
I use a Linksys music bridge, and it works pretty well. It uses your wireless network to transmit to a box that you plug into your receiver. You do have to use an ethernet cable to set it up, and if you change your network or network password you would have to set it up again.

It was about $89 I think.

 

____________________

 

Peach Pro



Karma:
Posts: 351
(352 all sites)
Registered: 5/13/2007
Status: Offline

  posted on 1/14/2010 at 01:37 PM
wireless networks are a pain in the a$$ as it is, so im realling hoping for something that is either on its own network, or another option.

absnj - i have read a couple of things saying that the longer the cable is, the worse the sound quality gets. is this true? i need like a 25 foot cable- do they even make ones this long?

 

____________________

 

Peach Head



Karma:
Posts: 50
(50 all sites)
Registered: 1/10/2007
Status: Offline

  posted on 1/14/2010 at 01:45 PM
i just purchased the logitech squeezebox duet and love it. it's basically a reciever that hooks up to your stereo ( digital ) and the interface is a remote that is used like an ipod. it has some small quirks, but is a solid product. i can now stream anything off the internet or access my music files on my computer. setup is very easy. i wish i bought i sooner.
 

Extreme Peach



Karma:
Posts: 1962
(1969 all sites)
Registered: 6/7/2005
Status: Offline

  posted on 1/14/2010 at 01:54 PM
quote:
wireless networks are a pain in the a$$ as it is, so im realling hoping for something that is either on its own network, or another option.

absnj - i have read a couple of things saying that the longer the cable is, the worse the sound quality gets. is this true? i need like a 25 foot cable- do they even make ones this long?


Use a well shielded cable like Monster and it should be fine.

 

____________________
Do not panic!
http://jimkanavy.com
http://www.facebook.com/profile.php?ref=name&id=1124427931
http://www.americanbluesscene.com

 

Peach Pro



Karma:
Posts: 351
(352 all sites)
Registered: 5/13/2007
Status: Offline

  posted on 1/14/2010 at 02:08 PM
it doesn't' look like monster sells a cable that is long enough for me. the longest one that would work that i could find is only 8 feet long. am i looking in the wrong place?

 

____________________

 

Zen Peach



Karma:
Posts: 67592
(67953 all sites)
Registered: 11/28/2001
Status: Offline

  posted on 1/14/2010 at 04:28 PM
quote:
it doesn't' look like monster sells a cable that is long enough for me. the longest one that would work that i could find is only 8 feet long. am i looking in the wrong place?



I've used just generic 25 foot rca cables before and they work fine. Check out http://www.monoprice.com for good low cost cables.

 

____________________

 

True Peach



Karma:
Posts: 11675
(12118 all sites)
Registered: 1/8/2005
Status: Offline

  posted on 1/14/2010 at 05:06 PM
quote:
I've used just generic 25 foot rca cables before and they work fine.

Me too!

 
 


Powered by XForum 1.81.1 by Trollix Software


Privacy | Terms of Service
The ALLMAN BROTHERS BAND name, The ALLMAN BROTHERS name, likenesses, logos, mushroom design and peach truck are all registered trademarks of THE ABB MERCHANDISING CO., INC. whose rights are specifically reserved. Any artwork, visual, or audio representations used on this web site CONTAINING ANY REGISTERED TRADEMARKS are under license from The ABB MERCHANDISING CO., INC. A REVOCABLE, GRATIS LICENSE IS GRANTED TO ALL REGISTERED PEACH CORP MEMBERS FOR The DOWNLOADING OF ONE COPY FOR PERSONAL USE ONLY. ANY DISTRIBUTION OR REPRODUCTION OF THE TRADEMARKS CONTAINED HEREIN ARE PROHIBITED AND ARE SPECIFICALLY RESERVED BY THE ABB MERCHANDISING CO.,INC.
site by Hittin' the Web Group with www.experiencewasabi3d.com