Don't click or your IP will be banned


Charlotte-Aug 9, 2003

I admit it. I miss Dickey...his energy, style and attitude defined the ABB since the reunion tour in '89. Last years Charlotte show was kind of a bust and I was apprehensive about this one.

I admit it. I was wrong to be apprehensive. The set was an incredible mix of old and new. Gregg's vocals...I believe he's getting stronger, in the 40 or so shows that I've seen him perform at, I've never heard him sound better. His keyboard playing seems more inspired too.

Jaimoe, Butch, Marc and Oteil...they were ON! Every song was played with an unsurpassed intensity. The Mountain Jam...incredible interplay between those guys that kept everyone rivited.

Warren and Derek. Phew...there were too many moments to try to single anything out, but I would have to say that during every tune, one of those guys hit the note that made the hair on the back of your neck rise and the grin on your face widen.

I'm very, very grateful that 'Layla' was the encore song. I've read so much about it and you have to believe everything everyone has said...it was out of this world fantastic. I swear if you closed your eyes, it was Derek and the Domino's on that stage. Closing the evening with that song put the icing on the cake. Tailgating afterward, 'Layla' was the hot topic. Everyone loved it and everyone agreed that this was a special night.

Thank you boys for a memorable evening of great music. See you next year.


Added:  Sunday, August 10, 2003
Reviewer:  Larry Doolan
Score:
hits: 3339

  

[ Back to reviews index ] [ Post comment ]

Posted by Anonymous on Mar 01, 2006 - 09:56 AM
Your rating:

Hi, Jessicaz. Call me +4800-341255245

Posted by UNCLEJON75 on Aug 14, 2003 - 06:26 PM
Your rating:

I was very satisfied with the performance from the Brothers in Charlotte. But one thing that kind of got under my skin was the fact that the attendance level and crowd enthusiasm may have been a little low from past years! I some what feel sorry for the "fans" who did not witness the grace and perfection that I did that night at the Verizon Amphitheater. Maybe everyone was tired from the Toby Keith show the night before. At any rate I would like to personally thank the Brothers for once again lifting my spirits and again for letting me realize why I keep going back year after year!

Posted by lanceacreman on Aug 13, 2003 - 06:00 PM
Your rating:

After seeing the ATL show I thought to myself, How are they going to top that? I think they did in Charlotte. I thought the ATL show was the best show to date, but they blew it up in Charlotte. The highlite was Mtn. Jam>Afro Blue>Mtn. Jam. Why didn't anybody mention the Afro in the middle of Mtn. Jam? It was sick!!!! The Layla was great too! If you closed your eyes you would think Duane was on stage during Layla! I can't wait until next year, hopefully the Brothers will play more in the South besides 3 shows.

Posted by charlesfranklin on Aug 12, 2003 - 09:43 PM
Your rating:

Whoever submitted the set list for the concert at Charlotte, Saturday, August 9 must have been gone to the restroom when Trouble No More was being played since it was left off and should have been listed as song # 6.

Posted by snowman420 on Aug 11, 2003 - 05:03 PM
Your rating:

I couldn't find my last comment. I throughly enjoyed Saturday nights show in Charlotte untill I got sick. I really missed out on picking up my instant live cd. If anyone can help me get a copy, I would greatly appreciate it. I have the voucher for the cd that I was never able to get because I was sick and the crowd at the window was borderline out of control. If you can help please e-mail me at bsnow78@msn.com.

Posted by Kilolien on Aug 10, 2003 - 03:11 PM
Your rating:

I was extremely excited about seeing the boys Saturday. I have been to many Allman Bros. shows in my 33 years on this planet. Yet I think that nothing could have prepared me for the energy and magic at this show. I thought the song selection was just great....and extremely well played. I was caught off guard time and time again. These guys are jamming so hard its just crazy. Mountain Jam was a highlight for me, and I was boogying like mad. Then something happened that REALLY caught me off guard and sent me on an emotional rollercoaster. It never really registered with me that this was August 9th......and what August 9th means to so many people like myself who simply adored Jerry Garcia. The 9th was the anniversary of Garcias' untimely death, and during ABB set, a very moving tribute to Jerry was unleashed to the audience in Charlotte......a nice collection of photos of Jerry appeared on the screen behind the band while the band was playing "Patchwork Quilt".......I just stood there motionless....and felt embarassed and ashamed that I had not realised that this was the day the music died. I can't really put into words how grateful I am for the classy tribute to Jerry the ABB presented to us. I was in tears the whole time. I'm actually crying right now typing this. It was unbelievably amazing. THANK YOU ALLMAN BROTHERS BAND!!!!! ~and to help me bring me out of my rememberance of the 'good ol days'......the boys encored a scorching version of "Layla" Truly amazing.........and it really did sound just like Derek and the Dominoes. I was a little skeptical about saying this was the best ABB show I ever attended........but you know what? I really think it was.

Privacy | Terms of Service | Report Infringement | Personal Data Management | Contact Us
The ALLMAN BROTHERS BAND name, The ALLMAN BROTHERS name, likenesses, logos, mushroom design and peach truck are all registered trademarks of THE ABB MERCHANDISING CO., INC. whose rights are specifically reserved. Any artwork, visual, or audio representations used on this web site CONTAINING ANY REGISTERED TRADEMARKS are under license from The ABB MERCHANDISING CO., INC. A REVOCABLE, GRATIS LICENSE IS GRANTED TO ALL REGISTERED PEACH CORP MEMBERS FOR The DOWNLOADING OF ONE COPY FOR PERSONAL USE ONLY. ANY DISTRIBUTION OR REPRODUCTION OF THE TRADEMARKS CONTAINED HEREIN ARE PROHIBITED AND ARE SPECIFICALLY RESERVED BY THE ABB MERCHANDISING CO.,INC.
site by Hittin' the Web Group with www.experiencewasabi3d.com